We’re often asked, “How did we get our name?”
It all started in 1946 out of a little rented space just at the back of the old Travelers Hotel in downtown Fresno. We needed a name and most people got used to calling us Travelers due to our location and the name just stuck. We changed the sign by eliminating Hotel and adding Body & Fender Works Inc.
We spent almost 6 years at the old Travelers Hotel before moving on to our second location at 420 Broadway the name went with us. In 1965 we purchased and built the main body shop. In 1974 we added the paint area and parts area. In 1987 we added a downdraft paint system. Upon Orval’s passing in 1987, Jim Minnis inherited the remaining stock and remains the principle stock holder today. At the age of 27 Jim began managing the day to day operations. Jim maintains Orval’s legacy to deliver quality service and taking pride in every job to insure customer satisfaction.
Staff and Production Crew 1965
Top Left To Right: Opal Madsen – Office Secretary for 35 years, Orval Minnis – Owner, George Zanovich – Painter
Bottom Left To Right: Phil Moorjidian – Apprentice, Clyde Lack – Journeyman-body man, Ken Columbini – Journeyman-body man, Alvin Appling – Journeyman-body man, Jim Minnis – Apprentice